ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Points Table: Latest Team Standings and Rankings

ICC World Cup 2023 Points Table: The 2023 Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup is here. 10 top teams in the world will participate in the tournament. 48 games will be played from October 5 to November 19, 2023. You can check the latest and updated points table and team standings here.

Mudit Chhikara
Nov 13, 2023, 14:42 IST
Get Here The Latest And Updated ICC World Cup 2023 Standings Of The 10 Teams
Get Here The Latest And Updated ICC World Cup 2023 Standings Of The 10 Teams

ICC Cricket World Cup Points Table 2023: The biggest and most prestigious tournament in the history of cricket is here. The quadrennial ICC Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to commence on October 5 and last until November 19, 2023.

Ten of the best teams in the world will battle to lift the coveted World Cup trophy. Over the course of one and a half months, it will be decided which team is the best in the world. England is the current World Cup champion, while New Zealand finished as the runner-up in both the 2015 and 2019 World Cup seasons.

India is the host of the 2023 World Cup, and also the number one ranked ODI team on the planet, and as such, a favourite to lift the trophy. Australia and Pakistan have also been performing well lately.

The World Cup also follows the limited 50-over ODI format and a round-robin method of scheduling games. The first match of the 2023 Cricket World Cup will be played on October 5 between New Zealand and England at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Gujarat.

On that note, we bring you the ICC World Cup 2023 points table and team rankings. Keep checking here at Jagran Josh as we extensively cover the tournament and bring you the latest and updated World Cup 2023 standings.


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Points Table

The 2023 ICC World Cup will follow a round-robin format in which all ten teams will compete against each other. There will be 45 games in the league stage. The top 4 teams will play the semi-finals, and the last game will be the final for a total of 48 games over 45 Days.


Match 45:  India vs Netherlands

  • In the 45th match of the World Cup, India beat Netherlands by 160 runs. 

Final Score:

India: 410/4 (50 Overs)

Netherlands: 250 (47.5 overs) 

  • India finished at the top of the points table after the league stage. The hosts India dominated the competition and won all 9 games.
  • South Africa and Australia came in second with 14 points each.
  • After a tough battle with Pakistan and Afghanistan in the last few matches, New Zealand managed to secure the fourth spot with 10 points.
  • India will play New Zealand in the Semi-Final 1 of the 2023 ODI World Cup and South Africa will face Australia in the Semi-Final 2.
1  India 9 9 0 0 0 +2.570 18
2  South Africa 9 7 2 0 0 +1.261 14
3  Australia 9 7 2 0 0 +0.841 14
4  New Zealand 9 5 4 0 0 +0.743 10
5  Pakistan 9 4 5 0 0 -0.199 8
6  Afghanistan 9 4 5 0 0 -0.336 8
7  England 9 3 6 0 0 -0.572 6
8  Bangladesh 9 2 7 0 0 -1.087 4
9  Sri Lanka 9 2 7 0 0 -1.419 4
10  Netherlands 9 2 7 0 0 -1.825 4

How Net Run Rate is Calculated in ODI Cricket World Cup 2023?

  • Cricket has become highly competitive, and in major tournaments, many teams end up with the same points and number of games won. One method of breaking ties is through the Net Run Rate (NRR).
  • A team’s net run rate is defined as the difference between the average runs scored by that team throughout the competition and the average runs scored against that team in the competition.
  • If a team is all out before playing the full quota of overs, the net run rate is calculated based on the total overs, not the overs the team was dismissed in.



India scored 700 runs in 150 overs at a rate of 4.66 rpo. [700/150]


The combined runs of teams playing against India are 497 in 150 overs, so the run rate = 3.31 rpo.

Net Run Rate  =  RR (For - Against)

= 4.66 - 3.31

= +1.34

Hence, India has a positive run rate

ICC World Cup Points Table (2011 - 2019)

2019 World Cup

Winner: England

Runner Up: New Zealand

2019 World Cup Points Table

2015 World Cup

Winner: Australia

Runner Up: New Zealand

2015 World Cup Points Table

2011 World Cup

Winner: India

Runner Up: Sri Lanka

2011 World Cup Points Table


Get here current GK and GK quiz questions in English and Hindi for India, World, Sports and Competitive exam preparation. Download the Jagran Josh Current Affairs App.


  • Which teams will qualify for the World Cup 2023 Semi-final?
    The top four teams in the points table will qualify for the semi-finals of the 2023 Cricket World Cup.
  • How many teams are participating in the 2023 Cricket World Cup?
    10 teams are participating in the 2023 ICC World Cup: India, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, Australia, Pakistan, Netherlands, South Africa, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.
  • Which team is at the top of the ICC World Cup 2023 points table?
    India is at the top of the points table in ICC World Cup 2023 with 6 points and +1.821 net run rate.


Related Stories

Trending Categories

Latest Education News

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.